+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31



  1. #1
    Contributor staticMHZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA market
    Posts
    625

    Default All Viewers in Rural Areas post here

    Tell me your experience as to channel availability. I live in a rural area. I get CBS 4.1.

    No option for an outdoor antenna as I don't own the property where I reside.

    So tell me rural users, how bad is it for you guys?

    A Prediction:

    Reception will be such a problem, that alot of Networks will LOSE viewers resulting in lower ratings and such and such.
    Last edited by staticMHZ; 01-13-2009 at 01:43 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    We get about 8 analog stations here, nothing in digital.
    With a roof antenna and an amplifier.
    Heavily forested area, and almost everything here is going to UHF.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by staticstem View Post
    Tell me your experience as to channel availability. I live in a rural area. I get CBS 4.1.

    No option for an outdoor antenna as I don't own the property where I reside.

    So tell me rural users, how bad is it for you guys?

    A Prediction:

    Reception will be such a problem, that alot of Networks will LOSE viewers resulting in lower ratings and such and such.
    live and install antennas in rural areas I personally get 32 channels including sub channels, most get around 43 channels with my setups. check out cowboys deep fringe prescription.
    )

  4. #4
    Contributor staticMHZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA market
    Posts
    625
    Thread Starter

    Default

    this is gonna be a mess for us deep fringe users

  5. #5

    Default

    Yes it is a mess for those that lives in rural area. I have roof mounted antenna and with analog signal I could get as many as 17 but I can't get a clean digital signal at all. What I get looks like something off broken DVD disc. Total of 7 channels: 5-1, 5-2, 12-1, 12-2, 12-3, 25-1, and 66-1

    If I can't get those cleanly with external roof mounted antenna, forget about small bunny ear antenna.

    I wish the local satellite service would ignore the no cable area rule because cable exists in my area yet no cable for me because cable line ended 1/4 mile from my house. So all I can get is over the air signals :P

  6. #6

    Default

    Hello all @ dtv usa. Glad I found your forum I live approximately 60-70 miles north of Kansas City,MO. and just installed an Insignia NS-DXA1-APT converter Saturday. I was amazed to get reception from all but two KC stations(KSHB 41.1 & KMCI 38.1) on my 25 year old pole mount antenna-25' with a variable gain 36db amp.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    2,290
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShowMeRon View Post
    Hello all @ dtv usa. Glad I found your forum I live approximately 60-70 miles north of Kansas City,MO. and just installed an Insignia NS-DXA1-APT converter Saturday. I was amazed to get reception from all but two KC stations(KSHB 41.1 & KMCI 38.1) on my 25 year old pole mount antenna-25' with a variable gain 36db amp.
    Thanks for sharing! Does your antenna have a rotator?

  8. #8

    Default

    No rotator needed since all stations towers are within 3 or 4 degrees.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Concerned_parent View Post
    Yes it is a mess for those that lives in rural area. I have roof mounted antenna and with analog signal I could get as many as 17 but I can't get a clean digital signal at all. What I get looks like something off broken DVD disc. Total of 7 channels: 5-1, 5-2, 12-1, 12-2, 12-3, 25-1, and 66-1

    If I can't get those cleanly with external roof mounted antenna, forget about small bunny ear antenna.

    I wish the local satellite service would ignore the no cable area rule because cable exists in my area yet no cable for me because cable line ended 1/4 mile from my house. So all I can get is over the air signals :P
    go to tvfool.com and enter your address it could be that your antenna needs a preamp or that you have the wrong type of antenna, in many areas a lot of the digital channels are on the UHF side most combo antennas have a weak UHF side so a pre amp is needed, check out the post cowboys deep fringe prescription if you are in a deep fringe area this will give you the best results
    Last edited by cowboyup4christ; 01-27-2009 at 07:57 AM.

  10. #10

  11. #11

    Default

    Hello, and yes, I absolutely agree about digital broadcast strength. Have you seen this thread yet? It gives an estimate of what you should be receiving in your town/city/state. I have searched on all of my local broadcast stations for power output of digital channels and if there's going to be an increase after February 17th. Can't find any answers.

  12. #12

    Default

    go to tvfool.com put in your address it will show all stations signal strength and distance you can see now and post trans info. your problem may be at 26 miles you are experiencing overload with the pre amp to much is as bad as to little with digital.
    Last edited by cowboyup4christ; 01-28-2009 at 05:34 PM.

  13. #13

    Default

    Today I'm gonna replace the ancient 300 ohm flat leadwire running from the pole mount antenna with 75 ohm coax. Also repair a couple of lost elements. I'll let y'all know if the reception increases, decreases or if I screwed it all up.

  14. #14
    Contributor staticMHZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA market
    Posts
    625
    Thread Starter

    Default

    I'm pulling in

    4.1, 7.1 HD, 7.2 SD, 44.1, 44.2, 44.3, 44.4, 2.1, 2.2, 5.1

    Signal range for all is between 52-72% strength. This is on my Vizio 22" LCD HDTV witha built in HD tuner btw.

  15. #15

    Default Help

    I just bought our converter boxes, and hooked them up and did not get any digital chanels. We do live out east of abq nm, And do have a hard time with analog, but at least we receive 5 channels. I hooked one box up to our roof mounted antenna And one to rabbit ears Neither one worked. I'm like a lot of other people when it comes to paying for tv. I'm only 14.5 miles away from the tv transmitters but we live in the mountains. I hope we do not have to spend much more on this. Any suggestion would be helpful.

  16. #16

    Default help

    cowboyup went to your link and was not there or I could not pull it up?

  17. #17
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    2,290
    Blog Entries
    37

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wellcraft View Post
    cowboyup went to your link and was not there or I could not pull it up?
    Wellcraft, the link you're looking for on is the "Start Here" link I believe.

    Your roof top should be sufficient considering you're only 14.5 Miles from broadcast towers. How many feet of cable are you running from the roof top antenna to your converter box? Are there any splitters? Also, is there an external amplifier connected in-line with the antenna and converter box?

  18. #18
    Contributor staticMHZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA market
    Posts
    625
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Alot of people tell me that an amp will even worsen your reception, but in my case, it helps. ALOT. Definetly add an amp if you can.

    Also, if you have a roof antenna, get a rotor. That way you can move the antenna around and point it towards the towers.

    A rotor and amp will help.

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wellcraft View Post
    I just bought our converter boxes, and hooked them up and did not get any digital chanels. We do live out east of abq nm, And do have a hard time with analog, but at least we receive 5 channels. I hooked one box up to our roof mounted antenna And one to rabbit ears Neither one worked. I'm like a lot of other people when it comes to paying for tv. I'm only 14.5 miles away from the tv transmitters but we live in the mountains. I hope we do not have to spend much more on this. Any suggestion would be helpful.
    Check tv fool and see if your channels are UHF or VHF I had a lady whose box got nothing and she had a VHF antenna and all of the stations are UHF on the digital side. also she had twin lead from her antenna, replace her antenna with a UHF and run coax to the box now gets great reception.

  20. #20

    Default

    Wellcraft, the link you're looking for on is the "Start Here" link I believe.

    Your roof top should be sufficient considering you're only 14.5 Miles from broadcast towers. How many feet of cable are you running from the roof top antenna to your converter box? Are there any splitters? Also, is there an external amplifier connected in-line with the antenna and converter box?



    This is what we also thought on the roof. Only have 40ft coaxal, no splitters and one coupler. no amp. the 14.5 mile are close ,but what about the mountains (line of site) ? Thanks for the help

Related Topics and Posts on DTVUSAForum

Quick Reply Quick Reply


Click here to log in

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

About
DTV USA Forum is the best source of televisionand technology troubleshooting advice from a community of experts and members.

Fromhobbyists to engineers, our diverse network of members chat about everything from the latest TV antenna hardware, Home Theater technology, cable, satellite, streaming tv, and much more.
Stay up to Date!
Join Today!
Join DTVUSAForum