+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 19 of 19



  1. #1
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default Do flat screens need converter boxes

    I have a flat screen TV that I just bought from a yard sale but I don't have cable TV. Is it going to need a converter box?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Chief Content Editor
    Fringe Reception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Seattle ... and still learning that sometimes ATSC reception = Black Magic plus Pixie Dust
    Posts
    4,315
    Blog Entries
    36

    Default

    Guest,

    If you post the make and model number of your yard sale find, we may be able to do some research and provide you a difinitive answer.

    Jim

  3. #3

    Default

    Just because it's a flat screen does not mean it needs a converter box. What is the make and model number and we will look it up.

  4. #4

    Blogger: Orry's Orations
    Orrymain's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    On the planet Earth
    Posts
    3,112
    Blog Entries
    276

    Default

    Most likely you can hook it up to antenna. All TVs still have an antenna connection.

  5. #5

    Default

    Just found this post from a while back and figured I'd add my $.02.

    Most "flat screens" like LCDs and Plasmas have built-in digital tuners. Especially if the TV was manufactured in the last 5 years. You can verify in your instruction manual by looking for the word "ATSC".

    If your TV says "HD Ready", it means that it does not contain a digital tuner, but is capable of receiving HD content with an external HD tuner or Blu-ray disc player.

  6. #6
    benita
    Guest

    Wink

    Panasonic led TC L32B6

  7. #7

    Default

    Most flat screen tv's have digital tuners built-in so it shouldn't. Look for ATSC. Be careful about buying electronics at a yard sale. Did it once a long time ago and I will never do it again.

  8. #8

    Default

    I looked up the instruction manual for this set, and it is printed on a big sheet. On "Page 8" located on the top left of the big sheet's second side, according to the PDF I am looking at, the TV has both analog and digital capability built-in. it does not come right out with "ATSC" or "over-the-air digital TV. If it has the ATSC tuner, it will receive digital signals without outside converter box required.

    Download link at Download PANASONIC TC-L32B6X Operating Instruction

  9. #9

    Default

    i bought an antenna from rakuten.com (formerly buy.com) for $7 and I have had crystal clear service ever since. and i didnt need a converter!

  10. #10
    Moderator

    Webmaster of Cache Free TV
    MrPogi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Las vegas
    Posts
    4,223
    Blog Entries
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fan-boy-comics View Post
    i bought an antenna from rakuten.com (formerly buy.com) for $7 and I have had crystal clear service ever since. and i didnt need a converter!
    Just goes to show - it can take as little as a $7 antenna or even an old coat-hanger to kill pay TV, and save hundreds of dollars a year.

  11. #11
    Moderator dkreichen1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Monument, CO
    Posts
    3,187
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    I'm 99.99% sure it won't need a converter box.

  12. #12

    Default

    I don't see why it wouldn't work with a converter box, but I'm not too sure. That is a really good questions. I have two flat screens and love them. The quality of picture is so different compared to the regular Tvs.

  13. #13
    vernonpearson31@yahoo.com
    Guest

    Cool Fuzzy

    I have an Hatichi flat scree TV model LD26D204. Do I need a converter box and if I do what type do I need. I have a GE model#34763 I bought at WalMart, but I have not hooked it up as of now. Please advise and give me a diagram if I need it in order to finish my project. I am on SSA and my and my cable is getting higher very fast. Please help me if you can.

  14. #14
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default HDTV antennae

    I want to take my small 13.3" GPX TDS-1384 TV/DVD player camping with me. I can not find the correct manual for this TV as all I can come up with the TDS-1384B manual. Although they look it, I don't know if these two models are the same. I'm would like to know if the GPX TV I have has a ATSC tuner. To get the signal when camping (I've checked out TitanTV for stations in the camping area that are within a 50 mile range and there are quite a few here in Florida) should I buy an external antennae such as the Mohu Leaf 50? I've read there is no such thing as a true HD-DTV antennae, no matter the seller says. Included here is a couple of questions:

    1 - Does my GPX TDS-1384 TV/DVD have an ATSC tuner?

    2 - Would the Mohu Leaf 50 antennae bring in DTV stations to my TV?

    Thanks,

    Mo

  15. #15
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Lower Wind River Basin West Central Wyoming
    Posts
    939

    Default

    If it was sold in this country after 2007 there is a pretty good chance that it does have an ATSC tuner. If there are strong UHF signals present at the location where you plan to be the leaf could work. Yes an external antenna will likely be needed. I'm not an expert at all the goofy little indoor antennas on the market today. You might read through these links.
    Antennas, Antennas, On The Wall
    Indoor TV antenna review | HDTVexpert
    Go to TV Fool get a signal report for where you are going to be. If there are a lot of strong signals the ones shown in green on the report they might be receivable with a small external antenna.
    https://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opt...pper&Itemid=29
    You can use the maps on the TV Fool sight to get a report for your exact location.
    https://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90
    Steve

  16. #16

    Default

    you do not need converter box !!

  17. #17
    Guest
    Guest

    Default Free channels on my westinghouse

    I have a Westinghouse
    DWM48F1G1 and purchased the UltraPro GE Optima HD antenna to quit cable. I have installed it and done the scan and nothing... This is the second trip to the store to replace the antenna. Why is going on and what am I doing wrong.

  18. #18
    DTVUSA Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Atlanta Metro
    Posts
    107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guest View Post
    I have a Westinghouse
    DWM48F1G1 and purchased the UltraPro GE Optima HD antenna to quit cable. I have installed it and done the scan and nothing... This is the second trip to the store to replace the antenna. Why is going on and what am I doing wrong.
    In reading the user manual for your TV, it appears to have an odd configuration: There is an RF jack for the antenna, and a separate jack for cable/satellite. Most TVs feed this from the same F-type jack. So first, make sure you're plugging the antenna into the right one. The antenna connection is on the back of the TV along a side-panel, next to the AV/YPbPr (composite/component) jacks, and should be labeled "RF IN." The cable/satellite connection is next to the PC/VGA input. That's on the back near the bottom and should be labeled "COAXIAL."

    If that's not your issue, then post your TVFool report here and we can look at what signal you should be receiving.

  19. #19
    Super Moderator
    Chief Content Editor
    Fringe Reception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Seattle ... and still learning that sometimes ATSC reception = Black Magic plus Pixie Dust
    Posts
    4,315
    Blog Entries
    36

    Default

    Guest,

    You may have to enter the on-screen menu and select the signal source: deselect cable/satellite and choose antenna, terrestrial or air. Different manufacturers use different names.

    Jim
    Three of my popular blogs posts:

    Radio Shack is Short Circuiting
    http://www.dtvusaforum.com/blogs/fri...ircuiting.html

    A new scam aimed at AT&T Wireless Customers
    http://www.dtvusaforum.com/blogs/fri...customers.html

    LED Lamps Are Becoming Practical For Your Home
    http://www.dtvusaforum.com/blogs/fri...your-home.html

Related Topics and Posts on DTVUSAForum

Quick Reply Quick Reply


Click here to log in

What Color starts with the letters "Gree", and type the number ninety-one after it (no spacing)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

About
DTV USA Forum is the best source of television and technology troubleshooting advice from a community of experts and members.

From hobbyists to engineers, our diverse network of members chat about everything from the latest TV antenna hardware, Home Theater technology, cable, satellite, streaming tv, and much more.
Stay up to Date!
Join Today!
Join DTVUSAForum