+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9



  1. #1

    Default New to OTA

    I have about had it with my cable bill going up almost every month. I decided to get rid of the cable and get an antenna. I ordered the Winegard HD8200U. Was that a good choice? What else will I need?

    And I ordered before I looked at this...doesn't look good.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    The Graveyard Shift nbound-au's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Canberra, ACT - Australia
    Posts
    730
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Unfortunately thats a really poor TVFool. Is it possible to locate the antenna higher? Or any small hills on your property (maybe you live out of town)? If there is any trees that are taller than the mounting location in the direction of the stations its probably not going to be even worth chasing.

    Its extremely likely that you will need separate highend VHF (>=14el) and UHF (>=91el) antennas, a pre-amp, a rotor, and even then you might not get the signal. I wouldnt even bother without a professional installer with a meter, your chances of finding the ideal sweet spot are quite low.

    Your current antenna may work if the gods smile favourably on you (ie. your TVFool is very wrong), but you will need a rotor even moreso.

    You are somewhat likely to get:

    Small chance:

    Near zero chance:

    Infinitesimal chance:


    Another option is if you have a neighbour up a hill or something who has a bit better TVFool, maybe an arrangement can be made about running an OTA cable under the fence for you, if they got an antenna installed.

    These are all long shot ideas...

    Good luck
    Last edited by nbound-au; 02-18-2013 at 05:12 AM.

  3. #3
    Moderator


    Webmaster of: Rabbit Ears
    Trip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Alexandria, VA | Age: 25
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Also note that KBSH has been running at low power due to antenna damage all winter, so it will be an even tougher catch than normal.

    - Trip

  4. #4
    Moderator dkreichen1968's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Monument, CO
    Posts
    3,187
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 3505740 View Post
    I have about had it with my cable bill going up almost every month. I decided to get rid of the cable and get an antenna. I ordered the Winegard HD8200U. Was that a good choice? What else will I need?

    And I ordered before I looked at this...doesn't look good.

    Thanks.
    You definitely aren't in a good area. The antenna you got is what you will need though. To get the most number of available channels you will need a rotor and a good quality pre-amp. I'd suggest using a pre-amp since Channel Master has downgraded their amps.

  5. #5
    DTVUSA Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Based on my experience you might get different stations than suggested above.

    You have some vhf stations somewhat weaker than what I have, but I receive those very well and mine are 2-edge also, so I think you have a chance with those.

    The uhf might be hopeless, even though they may appear slightly stronger on the fool report. My reception of uhf is poor. I have found weak vhf is easier to get than weak uhf.

    Maybe at 340 degress you could get nbc and cbs. Maybe even a chance at abc. All are vhf.

  6. #6
    The Graveyard Shift nbound-au's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Canberra, ACT - Australia
    Posts
    730
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    All his stations are so close to the NM or past it... Hell be lucky to get anything as TVFool is usually slightly better tham real life... It doesnt take into account trees, buildings, etc... Just the intervening terrain.

  7. #7

    Default

    3505740, can I assume you're going to keep some kind of broadband internet connection? You can really get just about anything over the internet, except for local stations. We don't give explicit instructions on this site, because in some cases the legality is ... fuzzy? And it can be quite a hassle, as they keep changing the feeds. But you might become our resident expert on internet TV.

    Man, you gotta wonder what the Green Dish "nothing to lose" hawkers would say to a guy like this.

    R.

  8. #8
    DTVUSA Rookie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Thanks for the great information. Yes I have to look into the internet thing.

  9. #9
    The Graveyard Shift nbound-au's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Canberra, ACT - Australia
    Posts
    730
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you are really desperate you can get various US OTA channels broadcast FTA from satellite (mainly for distribution to transmission sites). Last I checked though you would probably need a motorised or multi-lnb dish as they are here, there, and everywhere.

    Of course you will also pick up alot more than the OTA feeds.

    This is a painful painful painful way to go about things (and is even worse if you have more than one TV).


    Slightly Offtopic: But over here in Australia, if you are outside of metro/regional OTA reception areas, all the remote area OTA channels are also available on satellite. All u gotta do is tell the govt your address (or get an installer to sign a statuatory declaration saying that theres no signal there), and they will activate a smartcard for use in one of the pre-approved decoders and away you go

Related Topics and Posts on DTVUSAForum