+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Best Roof Antenna for Hi VHF and UHF Recomendation

I am new to setting up OTA TV and need your knowledge & advise.

Channels most interested in (7-50): PBS, NBC, Fox, CBS, ABC. Channels are Hi VHF and UHF (do not need low VHF). Only need 1 TV setup for OTA. About 50 feet of cable from roof antenna to TV. There is a hill between TV towers and house.

30' TVF: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...5b94522b6dd886

Just to see 50' TVF: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...5b9488e4f4a354

Looks like the direction between 45-47 magnetic has the majority of channels of interest. So am I correct to assume a good UHF/Hi VHF directional antenna is needed.

I would like to get the best highest quality antenna. Form some research, these models get good reviews.
    1) Winegard HD8200U (Yagi, Hi VHF/UHF, Gain Hi VHF 12.6, UHF 14.2)

2) Channel Master CM4228HD (Bowtie, Hi VHF/UHF, Gain Hi VHF ___, UHF 12)

I was leaning toward the Winegard HD8200U. What do you think about these antenna's? Which Antenna and setup will you recommend?

Your help appreciated,

Related Topics and Posts

- DTV | HDTV Reception and Antenna Discussion
    - Antenna R&D

Never buy an antenna based on reviews since they're most frequently written by people who are 1) lucky 2) unlucky, or 3) clueless. Usually, it's a combination of two of those.

The "best" antenna is the one that works in YOUR location and YOUR circumstances, no more or no less.

You don't need to deal the 8200's aircraft-carrier size. There's nothing unique on low-VHF and as you said, you "do not need low VHF". Scratch it from your list. The 4228, maybe..