Question: Antenna recommendation for me

cxcflunky

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Hi,

Like anyone else new here I am here to find out what a good antenna choice for me would be. Although I have a astronomy degree, I do not know the ins and outs of RF transmission and reception, so please bear with me on some of my more basic questions :) Anyway, here is my TV Fool, I see that any post worth anything has its requisite TV Fool link :D I'd be open to indoor and outdoor solutions, but indoor is better. I live on the bottom floor of a 2 story house which is, just like any home in Hawai'i, single wall construction with a metal roof. Oh, if I can get my basic channels to watch football season I'll be happy. Looking at the list from TV Fool I gather that I would only need to go out about 30 miles at most, and for the most part 5-10 would be sufficient. If I have left out any other information please let me know. Thanks in advance for any help.

One last question, I might be able to get a secondhand DB8 Antennas Direct antenna, would this be an okay choice. I see that it is optimized for the UHF, so would that mean that I would be missing some of the VHF channels with this?

Anil

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member
First, I'm going to ask you to go to rabbitears.info and enter your info. It's similar to TVfool, but with more details. Please use a 20 foot height for your antenna.
RabbitEars.Info

By searching rabbitears, just looking at Hilo, I can see you have some weird channel sharing going on - like NBC and CBS sharing 13. For football, you'll also need to get Fox, channel 11.
Your TV fool was done at ground level, but it does give me the general layout.

I don't have much faith in indoor antennas, and you have a metal roof. Can you put an antenna on the roof or high on an exterior wall?