Cost

I am new to the internet tv fad. Can you please tell me if you have to pay to watch the television shows?

I mean, I would think you would have to because wouldn't that really P off the cable companies? I never have, but I can hook my computer up to my big screen--I would only have to pay for my internet and get "free" cable. I would save almost $60 a month that way.

KrisNY

DTVUSA Member
I'm confused? You mean to watch the shows that are on their websites? I do that when I miss one. It's free.
I wouldn't try that Sweet- it's illegal and you would probably get caught!

How is it illegal? I am confused. What is the difference of watching these shows on my computer screen vs. my 42 inch television screen?

Is it illegal to watch them on the computer? Are we not suppose too?

It's not illegal to watch it over the internet, and some cable companies host their own broadband so they're getting the difference from the broadband bills. that is, you pay $30 per month (example) they get their money either way. otherwise it's just like OTA TV. i don't think Cable companies have problems with people viewing digital tv for free either.

I think that Kris thought you meant planning on 'stealing' cable. that's illegal.

There's a few sites with a whole playlist of various shows. my two favs are:

SurfTheChannel - Home

TV Shack - tune in

There's movies, too. have fun! and watch out for Youku links, they're the slowest at buffering rates so if you don't want your shows to keep cutting out try to avoid Youku. since the videos aren't stored on your hard drive and just play in a Flash Video, it's not like you're illegally downloading them Napster style. i hook up my Acer Aspire One netbook up to a external 19" monitor to watch them so long as i have an internet connection.

Last edited: