DirecTV Decreased Quality, Compression Artifacts

MKMK

DTVUSA Rookie
Has any one else noticed the decrease in picture quality of Direct TV standard definition broadcasts in the past week or so.

I have observed a significant increase in compression artifacts (grainy blockiness around high contrast areas).

I suspect that Direct TV may be trying to push more channels out over their satellites - in order to do that they would need to decrease the data-rate and quality the each channel - or at least many channels - by compressing the channels more.

I work in the television industry doing compression and color correction on signals so my eyes are sensitive to this kind of thing, but when I mentioned it to my wife she immediately agreed that she had felt like the picture quality had gotten worse.

Jason Fritz

Administrator
Staff member
Interesting. I don't have DirecTV but my parents do. My fiance and I have been to their house twice this past week, and on both occasions, I noticed blockiness and even pixelation on non-local channels. Their dish installation was done 1 month prior and I didn't think to check signal quality, but you might be on to something.

Can't really comment on picture quality degradation compared to before this last week...haven't really spent enough time watching TV at their house, but I'll survey my dad about it tomorrow when I see him.

Have you only noticed this over the past week? What does your signal quality look like?

MKMK

DTVUSA Rookie
Thanks Jay,

My signal strength is fine (in the 80s): The kind of problems you get from a weak signal are big blocks showing up on your screen. That's not what I've been seeing.

The compression artifacts I've been observing are the result of the compression of the signal before it is broadcast. They are smaller grainy blocks and checker board patterns that often show up around high contrast areas, like edge between someones shirt and a suit or skin