Grounding an antenna

tommymc

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Can somebody explain the benefits antenna grounding in simple terms? I've seen the diagrams, I know how to do it. I've been using an ungrounded roof mount for over twenty years. When there is a lightening storm, we disconnect the co-ax cable. There have been lightening strikes within a few hundred feet of the house causing us to lose garage door openers and CFL's. I used to just kill the garage's breaker during lightening, but after losing the second garage door opener, somebody pointed out that the breaker is still grounded....unplugging the unit entirely makes it "invisible" to the lightening. Are we just lucky that the antenna was never struck, or is it invisible if it's unplugged?

My understanding of lightening is that it's looking for ground. Doesn't grounding the antenna make it a big lightening rod......putting a target on the roof? If a grounded antenna is struck, will the entire billion volts discharge down the tiny ground cable, or does the TV get zapped anyway? The co-ax grounding block is downstream from from the antenna mounted pre-amp so that's a goner right?

I know it's code...I just want to understand how this works....thanks.

Don_M

DTVUSA Member