Question: Help selecting the best antenna and location for the cabin:

rowles80

DTVUSA Rookie
Looking for some help setting up TV reception at our cabin. I have never used an antenna as we have cable at our main residence so I am a total rookie at this. That being said I like to thing of myself as a pretty good handy man and a pretty savvy tech geek so I am ready to learn and do!

Here is a link to my TV Fool Map

I have a LCD HDTV that is located in a central room that only has one window facing the Southeast. I am open to indoor antennas, have attic space, and would even consider a roof mount (but I have heard this may not be the best choice for snowy Minnesota winters.) I don't have any problems running cable (but I would love to know what kind and where to buy.)

My budget is $150 or less, and I am really only looking to get a local news channel or two so I can get weather updates and watch football games... however if I can get more channels for my budget I would love it. My goal is to set this up and forget it, I really don't want to spend time adjusting something each time I want to change the channel.

Any help or direction you can provide would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.

Attachments

R

Rowles80s

I would prefer a attic mount over a roof mount. Is this dual approach my only option? Also should I by an amplifier as well? Thanks again for all of your help.

SWHouston

Staff member
Rowles,

No, using two antennas only ables you to get more channels without much adu. However, just using one Antenna, will limit your viewing quite a bit, and, it's possible that the higher up you place the antenna, like on a Mast, could help your reception.

One thing you need to do is...
Go back to the TVFool site, and re-enter your information, BUT, scroll down to the bottom of that page, and enter the Height of the Antenna. You didn't do that on your first try, and it probably set the chart at/near ground level.