Help with Antenna Purchase....thank you in advance for your knowledge!

pullingin

DTVUSA Rookie
I am an newbie and am looking for your help and suggestions on a new antenna purchase.

Here is my TVFool report:
TV Fool

I am wondering you think would be a better purchase between the antennas listed below, or others you would suggest.

Channel Master 2016

Antennas Direct DB2

RCA ANT751

Thank you for your help!!!

dkreichen1968

Staff member
All three would probably work. The CM-2016 and the RCA ANT751 would give you better signal on KSBW and KCBA. Since there are about 30 degrees between the main station groups the wider beam angle of the dB2 might help you out, but you would have a lot less gain on KSBW and KCBA. The antenna will need to be pointed due east.

Fringe Reception

Super Moderator, Chief Content Editor
Staff member
:welcome: pullingin,

Out of curiosity, how many and which channels can you currently receive using rabbit ears? I ask, because you didn't specify an antenna height in your TVFOOL report so the result is based on only 5 feet above ground level. Since you want to install an outdoor antenna, a report based on the installed antenna height would help us.

Channels 2, 3 and 6 are low-band VHF which may prove to be a problem, channels 7 and 8 are high-band VHF. I do not recommend the Antennas Direct DB-2 for your application, unless the VHF signal strengths climb significantly in an updated TVFOOL report.

Jim

pullingin

DTVUSA Rookie
:welcome: pullingin,

Out of curiosity, how many and which channels can you currently receive using rabbit ears? I ask, because you didn't specify an antenna height in your TVFOOL report so the result is based on only 5 feet above ground level. Since you want to install an outdoor antenna, a report based on the installed antenna height would help us.