Question: Help with Antenna

Gordy64

DTVUSA Rookie
Hi, I'm new to the DTV forum and need some help. I replaced my large bulky Winegard directional antenna with a Yagi style antenna. Here is the link to what I bought.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/HDTV-Outdoor-Amplified-Antenna-HD-TV-36dB-Rotor-Remote-360-176-UHF-VHF-FM-150-Miles/34176799

Why I replaced it was because it was old with many of the elements bent and broken. My neighbor got DirectTV and gave it to me years ago. So anyway, this new antenna was shipped to me. Assembling it, I thought ... what a piece of junk! But actually it works quite well except I lose channels at various times. But, this also happened with the Winegard. I added a preamp to the Winegard, but I don't see anyway to connect a preamp to this style antenna. I do have a indoor video VHF/FM amplifier that I did have connected to my 55" Plasma. Is it safe to plug this back in to help boost the signal? I've used the rotor to move the antenna, without much luck. I might add, I live 65 miles from San Diego, in a hilly area, 1600 ft elevation, and Camp Pendleton in my back yard, so to speak.

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member
See if you can return that antenna. It's junk. It has an amplifier built in, but it is very noisy - and even if it works for you, it won't survive for long.

Please go to TVfool TV Fool and post your results back here so we can analyze your reception and suggest a good antenna for you.

Assembling it, I thought ... what a piece of junk!
First impression may have been correct. I'm going to try to find that exact model, but it looks like a Lava or Sewell ... one of the Chinese models that break after a few months outdoors. The rotator and built in amp are just waiting to fall off.

But actually it works quite well except I lose channels at various times. But, this also happened with the Winegard.