If the Zune HD comes with HD Radio, will Apple bring DTV to the iPod and iPhone

JeepJeep

DTVUSA Member
Zune HD has stepped it up adding HD radio to its capability. Anyone think Apple will do the same with the iPod or iPhone?

If you had a choice, what would you choose? HD Radio or Mobile DTV?

O-O

DTVUSA Member
Well whatever you want to call HD radio, it does make the Zune more attractive to me as a frequent mp3 listener. One thing that Apple has had a leg up on for years is the iTunes service. I've never used a Zune before, but with my iPod I can connect it, download a few songs, and head out the door in less than a few minutes. Fast and easy.....

Piggie

Super Moderator
To me it would make a big difference. If it's terrestrial free HD Radio or $15 a month for satellite service.

Actually the phrase "HD Radio" as far as I know is owned and means terrestrial radio on the FM band.

There's no such thing as HD Radio. High Def radio doesn't exist. it's digital radio but you're still getting the same FM stations, the only diff is that it shows the song name and artist ala satellite radio style. but there's no 'new' networks like with digital TV.

The marketing of it as 'HD radio' with only the initials drives people to thinking it's High Definition but that's incorrect. the 'H D' is a whole different thing. but they don't make that one clear. even our own locals are acting and advertising it blaring it out as if it actually were High Definition.

And don't get me started on the new 'HD Pizzas' i have seen in stores. i am so sick of the lower-case 'i' in front of a gadget AND the term 'HD' all over everything when about 90% has nothing to do with High Definition.

There's no such thing as HD Radio. High Def radio doesn't exist. it's digital radio but you're still getting the same FM stations, the only diff is that it shows the song name and artist ala satellite radio style. but there's no 'new' networks like with digital TV.