Is my antenna too big? (still within return date...I think)

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here. Switching over from dish to over the air, and I don't know a whole lot about it.......yet. I started off using the antennaweb site to select an antenna. I could have probably used a 7084p and an 8700 pre-amp, but I thought "why not go bigger" and got the 8200U with the 8700 pre-amp. I live on the east edge of Michigan's thumb, and I'm really close to Canada. Detroit is about 45 miles to the SSW of me. I'd like to get Detroit's stations as well as Canada's (for good hockey viewing!!). So I will be buying a rotor as well, and all of this will be on a tower with the antenna at 30ft above ground. I will also be using a distribution booster amp (about 12 coax locations in the house).

None of this is hooked up yet.....the antenna and pre-amp are all I have right now......waiting to find a good rotor, and I'm ordering the tower soon.

Now, after bought the 8200U and 8700 pre amp, I found the TVfool link on here. Tried that, and I didn't realize some stations were that close to me. From what I've read, I don't want to pre-amp anything closer than 35 miles, but I don't know that for sure.

So with that, is the 8200U and 8700 too much? I'm still within the timeline that I can return it if its too big, and go with the 7084p (or something else you guys think is good) so I'm hoping you can help me before the date passes by.

Basically there are two reasons I'm wondering if the 8200U is right for me:

1. Worried about overload. Will I be fine?

2. If I'm reading the TVfool correctly, is it worth going 8200U (or even 7084p) for the channels 2 through 6 that I will pick up? I DO want to pick up FM.

HELP!!! LOL

Here's what the TVfool told me: (click here)

Or look here:

Last edited:

Trip

Moderator, , , Webmaster of: Rabbit Ears
Staff member
I doubt there's such a thing as "too much antenna."