Mission Impossible?

Cadet

DTVUSA Rookie
Hi everyone! Newbie here. Got a question that may well be a mission impossible, but you guys seem to know your stuff and if there's a way for this to be accomplished, you'd probably know how.

Here in the Mid-West we're heading into tornado season. I'd purchased a new digital portable TV (Haier HLT71) since my analog portables were going to become boat anchors. When the sirens go off, we head for the basement and the old analogs were pretty darn handy to keep abreast of the situation. However, being below ground level and behind a six foot hill to the north I'm afraid the Haier just isn't going to get a signal. An external antenna would get me over the obstruction, but come the first good wind gust will probably be headed to Kansas. What do you think my best options would be?

Right now, with the Haier and an RCA ANT111 I get exactly 1 station. (KRCG) This is on the second story of the house and it doesn't necessarily concern me as I don't know if all the stations are using their permanent antennas now or if they're just making due. But, I'm afraid the combo will fair worse in the basement. I have a Terk HDTVa on order which I hope will pull in more stations, but again I'm not sure how well that will work below ground level. I'd like to receive the signal from KMIZ if possible since they have better radar coverage of central Missouri. I've included the TV Fool plot for my location based on an antenna 4 feet above ground.

Your thoughts would be appreciated!

Piggie

Super Moderator
But if you loose power and wonder if it's safe to leave the basement an powered antenna won't help. When the power goes out a powered antenna is no antenna.

If you can figure out how to power it with a battery and it works good. I too wonder if it will even work under ground.