MS-2000 adding a reflector for more channels?

photokarma

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Hello all!

I know this may sound crazy.. (Im new to digital antennas, so please be kind) can you add a reflector to an omnidirectional antenna boost reception?

I have a Wineguard MS-2002 mounted in my attic (30+ feet above ground) with 50 foot RG6 running to the amplifier then another 6 ft rg6 out to the tv. I live in Easton, PA area code 18042 and get 39 channels. I do not get ABC or CW. I am looking to boost my channels without mounting it to the roof. Is it possible?

TIA!

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member
Not a practical solution... We can help you out, but you're going to have to go to TV Fool . enter your address and antenna height, and post the link to your results (IN BOLD AT THE TOP OF YOUR RESULTS PAGE) back here. I suspect your "omni" antenna will have to be replaced to get all the channels you want.

MrPogi

Staff member
This may require a bit of playing around, but here goes -
You have signal from 3 directions, 180, 230, and 317 degrees. You also have some VHF channels. You can probably live without the VHF-lo (2-6) channels. I'm going to suggest a Xtreme Signal 8-Bay VHF/UHF HDTV Antenna (Silver/Black) (HDB8X) which is an 8 bay antenna that allows aiming in 2 directions, and also does get some VHF-hi. I would point one panel to 180 degrees (south) and the other one - first try 230 degrees and see what you get. If it doesn't get you the channels you are looking for, try the transmitters at 317. Still not good? Try pointing one to 230 and the other to 317 degrees. These antennas are more powerful when BOTH panels are aimed in the same direction, so you could also try aiming BOTH panels the same direction, pointing first to 180, then 230, and then to 317 degrees. So that's a lot different ways to aim it, but I'm sure you will find one of these combinations will get you all you need. Don't use an amp, if you need one we can suggest one LATER.