Question: my HDTV antenna VS

blinky1004

DTVUSA Jr. Member
ok here is my tv fool TV Fool

i have had a Lava HDTV antenna with a cheap rotor and a poor excuse of some kind of rotator control/preamp.. i get 66 channels total in my channel search from my digital converter which is some "craig" brand i got with the coupon from DTV website in 2009. a couple questions,
im afraid to get a new antenna but i KNOW this ebay special i have had does NOT receive 150 mile range as they claim, i mean its plastic, only 5 plastic/metallic bowtie-like elements, and its only maybe 20 inches long. but i get total 66 channels which includes the 25-1, -2, -3 and thats only facing 350 degrees almost due north with a yagi, you know. but im getting ready to order something like a MXU59 or an 8 bay bowtie panel style. i see so many reviews on these things. could i actually achieve more than what i get now with a real antenna instead of this lava junk antenna? im a ham radio operator and i know about yagi beams, in comparison, this lava versus the MXU59, the lava should not even work at all based on its design. the mxu59 should be incredible, but it doesnt always mean bigger is better, the elements are calculated in size by frequency. but cmon, this thing is plastic. it did justice for the year and a half that i had it, but i want to know what an 8 bay with a 29db preamp, the kind that uses one piece on the mast and one behind the tv and plugs in. also a programmable rotator and the dual tuner DVR for over the air with the electronic program guide where you can schedule a week in advance and record many hours of TV. and would a better digital converter grab more channels, or is it al in the antenna, again im using a 19 dollar converter box. thanks for any and all help, im going nuts here please help me out.

dkreichen1968

Staff member