Question: New to OTA Need advice

U

Unregistered

Good morning..

I'm completely new to this, I have questions/seeking advice.. I'm planning on setting up an OTA antenna, I've been skimming the forums and am becoming confused.. For clarity, I'm planning on installing in a new/different house than I'm in ATM so I wont be doing anything immediately, just thinking ahead here. I read a sticky with some questions, I'll try to start with that.. I'd like as many channels as possible, I have a fairly broad budget, I want to run 3 or 4 TVs' the furthest away from the antenna will be approx. 40'. I have no equipment at all just now. I'm a contractor so being on the roof, general principles, securing everything etc. is not an issue. As a final note, I'm currently without cable, my billing cycle with my provider meant that by disconnecting service now/early I can save money, so I did just that.. Probably saved enough to buy most of my new setup.. I'm in Canada if that changes anything..

Here's my Tv Fool Link TV Fool

Hopefully I've not overlooked anything, thanks for your help and time..

Glenn

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member
Your (Strong) Canadian stations are at 233 degrees, and the weaker American channels are from about 150 to 180 degrees. You have a mix of UHF (14 and up) and VHF-hi (7-13) channels, so you will need an antenna that gets both. I would try for the Canadian channels @ 233 degrees first with a larger antenna and one TV. You could then play with the aiming and attempt to get both US and Can channels by pointing south. When you are satisfied with your reception, you can add an amplifier and split the signals to the other TV sets.

Just my first thoughts, as others join in we can discuss some specific antennas.

G