One antenna two tvs

Sweaver

DTVUSA Rookie
Okay so I have these to TVA that share the same antenna but one picks up way more channels and the other one hardly picks up any, is there anyway I could fix this?

Jim1348

DTVUSA Member
One Antenna Two TVs

Do a double scan of the tuners of all TVs. Also, check the coaxial cable. Use only RG-6 or better feedline. Check your splitter. I am listing several things because we don't have enough information about your set-up to narrow it down any further.

Okay so I have these to TVA that share the same antenna but one picks up way more channels and the other one hardly picks up any, is there anyway I could fix this?
Hey Sweaver!

I'm a rookie too. ;) Quick way to check the splitter and coax -- just switch the lines to the two TVs. I'm assuming you do scans of both TVs before and after any test.

Rick

dkreichen1968

Staff member
The other question that needs to be asked is, are both TVs digital? An analog TV would only pick up legacy low power and translator stations. The way to fix that would be to purchase a converter box, or a new TV.

Last edited:

Sweaver

DTVUSA Rookie
yes my tvs are analog but I have converter boxes for both, Ive checked the spilters and the tv works great with both but the other doesn't. but I dint know what a coaxial cable is though

Fringe Reception

Super Moderator, Chief Content Editor
Staff member
... but I dint know what a coaxial cable is though
:welcome: Sweaver,

Coaxial cable is the round wire that connects your tv to the converter box and the box to your antenna. Coax uses 'F' fittings that have a central wire with can be delicate. There is a slight possibility that wire is bent sideways inside one of the fittings, and that would cause one TV to be unable to receive any (or few) channels.

Jim

scandiskwindows9x

Moderator of DTV Latino