OTA Antenna selection help - Smithfield, Utah

shake

DTVUSA Rookie
Hi All,

I have dropped my satellite TV and am planning to put an antenna in the attic with hopes of getting some good channels for free. I am new to this, so I'm wondering if some of you experts might help me make some decisions. Here's my data:

TV Fool Data Link:
TV Fool

Antenna Location:
Attic, ~15ft above ground

Cable:
Leftover from Directv install

Cable length to TV:
60 to 70 ft

Desired Channels:
Main ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox channels
Would really like to get BYUtv and KBYU

Other:
1 TV set, no splitters, no rotator

Main questions:
Which antenna would be best (I'm willing to pay a bit more to get BYUtv/KBYU)?
Should I get a pre-amplifier? If so do you have a specific unit you would recommend?
I won't have power at the antenna, but I've heard of power over coax, I think.

Thanks for any suggestions you can give!

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member
Hey, Shake, and greetings from Nibley, UT.

Your best bet is a four bay antenna with the reflector removed. It will get you Cache County (South) and Franklin County (North) translators. You *May* also get the first three stations to the west, but if you're mostly interested in the major networks, that will do it.

If you have a DirecTV dish up that has a clear view of the north and south, then remove the dish and mount the antenna on the J-pipe mount. Forget about an amplifier, big waste of money unless you're going to more than 2 TV sets.

I have some 2 bay and other antennas for sale here that will work for you, but I because you are right in the middle of the valley, I'd recommend the four bay with no reflector. You can buy a commercial one, or I can build one for you for $50. PM me if you're interested. Click the link below for CacheFreeTV and go to the "Sales and install" page to see the 4 bay I make.

I get 35 channels here in Nibley, you should get about 30+.