Question: Please "point" me in the right direction :)

vdopower

DTVUSA Rookie
My tvfool results
TV Fool

I am very new to all of this so bear with me. I have satellite service from Dish Network and I would like to run an over the air antenna feed into my hopper receiver via a usb OTA module. My plan was to purchase the wineguard hd8200u antenna and the channel master 7777 titan2 pre amp and run the feed to the hopper ota module. The hopper will then incorporate all found channels into its guide (supposedly). I am moving my satellite dish to a pole on the ground, which leaves the mast at the top of the roof (approx. 25 feet) available for the ota. My main questions are

Can I use the previous dish mast (it has struts) to mount this antenna?

Is this setup going to be too much? Will I overload the system with this much gain/pwr?
I want to see as many channels as possible however I'm reading that if one is too close to the broadcast tower a pre amp can screw things up. The antenna has three direct coax lines (no barrels/splits) to the hopper location and the cable is rg6 3ghz solid copper. Im so lost in this respect, is the run solid enough to not need a preamp? Will I get more channels with the preamp?

Do I need to bond this antenna to the system ground? The satellite system is not grounded, it has three lines coming into the attic directly to the homerun closet (i.e it does not bond anywhere).

Sorry for my scattered post but its late and this is all very confusing! Thanks for your help. - Mark

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member
I believe you have the DirecTV "Slimline" mount, which is the most sturdy mount DirecTV uses. It should handle even that big antenna as long as it is properly secured to the roof.