Question: question re: 1950s rooftop antenna

terry

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Newbie here, so I don't know if I'm posting in the right place -but I came across this forum while trying to find a way to ditch paid tv by getting an antenna. I've tried searching the forum for this topic, but didn't find anything - please forgive my ignorance, as I know nothing about HDTV and the new technology. Here's my situation. I live in a modest suburban neighborhood on Long Island, in NY. My home is a single story 1950s brick ranch with an attic crawl space. The house is ringed on three sides by cedar trees. I have a chimney that has the original 1950s era antenna still mounted to it. Years ago, (before everything went digital) we actually used this antenna by attaching a coaxial single-pin fitting to the flat antenna wire that ran into our basement from outside, and we then ran that up to our analog tv. (Forgive me if I'm using the wrong terminology - I hope I'm explaining this clearly). We did get basic free networks that way, but eventually switched over to a cable box and got rid of the indoor antenna line. Fast-forward ten years, and we just got an internet-enabled smart HDTV. I REALLY want to get rid of our cable box, as most of the channels are useless, and I hate having to use two remotes ...but I understand that I'll need to use an antenna of some type in order to view regular network tv. So, my question is (and again, I apologize for my cluelessness), is there any way that the gigantic old 1950s antenna that still sits on my roof can be used for this? Or does the fact that everything is digital now make it completely obsolete? And if I can't use the old antenna, can someone recommend what I should use? And will it require a power source/electrical outlet or something? I did do the tvfool report - here's the link:

TV Fool