S. Fla long range reception

Nimrod

DTVUSA Rookie
Hello All,
We dropped the cable about six moths ago, loving it! My wife doesn't want the antenna outside because of the sometimes tropical winds. Have plenty of room in the attic so mounted it there.
Looking to improve on the OTS set-up I have. I have a Channel Master 4228 HD in the attic with a RCA TVPAMP1. Connected to 2 TVs with about 75 ft total RG6 cable. Most all of the channels here are UHF, the 2 Hi-VFH channels in WPB come in clear wit this set-up.
Really impressed with the reception we have but trying to get some long range channels out of Miami. All the local channels come in amazingly clear. Ft. Pierce & West Palm Beach are really good. Looking to get WSFL 39.1 about 81 miles away according to TVFOOL.
http://www.tvfool.com/modeling/tmp/1dda/ff0/dcf210e/getall.php
I receive WSFL sometimes but receive channel WLRN, 17.1 routinely (also 81 miles). Wife would really like to watch the Stargate SG1 re-runs on WSFL. Can't even find that one on the ROKU box.
Would a better pre-amp help? I bought the RCA as a trial and it really made a difference on the far away channels.
Thank you for your input.

Attachments

Unfortunately at 81 miles, the only way those signals will be received is with favorable atmospheric conditions. Look at the web site here & you will see that South Florida sees favorable activity almost daily which would explain what you are seeing. Looking at TV FOOL, looks like you would need an antenna height of at least 150 feet to overcome the curvature of the earth in your neck of the woods.

nbound-au

The Graveyard Shift