Signal Amplifiers: A question

atlanta

DTVUSA Jr. Member
I've got a new Vizio HDTV, and I've been splitting the table-top antenna to the TV and also to the VCR for recording. It seems like the signal isn't as good as it used to be, but I don't know if it's the Vizio or the fact that I'm splitting the signal. Would an amplifier make the signal noisier? Where would an amp go - before or after the splitter? Where do you get one (radio shack?)? I'm new to HDTV so I don't know what steps to take next. Thanks! You've all been very helpful in the past with my stupid questions!

Katie

EscapeVelocity

Moderator, , Webmaster of EV's Antenna Blog
Hello Katie!

Could you post a link to your TVFool results page?

You may be better off getting a different antenna (perhaps one with an integrated amplifier). Rather than just getting an amplifier.

atlanta

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Thanks. I'll look around for an antenna. I did buy one at one point that had an amp in it, but I didn't see any difference between the non-amplified and the amplified one, so I returned it. But that was when I was only running one signal instead of splitting it.

I'm not sure what you mean by this: <<Could you post a link to your TVFool results page?>>

EscapeVelocity

Moderator, , Webmaster of EV's Antenna Blog
Go to TVFool.com, then "Click Here" and fill in the info including height, and it will take you to a page with charts and graphs. Copy that address from the address bar of your browser and paste a link to it here. Your exact address will not be visible to others.

FOX TV

Contributor