Total Newbie Looking to get a rooftop antenna

Grumbles

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Hey folks, I am in desperate need of help. I am moving away from cable tv and am looking for a roof antenna. For some background, I was paying way too much for a bunch of channels that I wasn't watching. My wife decided to downsize us to the "lifeline" package, this means that currently I am paying 16 bucks a month for the channels I can get for free, a handful of other channels I don't watch and a bunch of shopping channels... Lifeline indeed...

Anyway, I am planning on putting up a rooftop antenna which will be fed into a Tivo HD (act as a converter for my old standard tv as well as a dvr). I am excited about this because I will also be subscribing to the cheapest Netflix which can stream video on demand via internet into the Tivo. In other words, via Netflix I can get a TON of old shows, new movies, etc for 9 bucks a month and also pull in all of my local networks for free. I am pretty pumped about this scheme. The problem of course is the upfront costs and knowledge required.

I am trying to figure out exactly what antenna I need and what I should expect as I look into all of this. My TvFool report:
TV Fool

I have my tv setup in the basement, which is why I am avoiding rabbit ears. I am looking at something like this: Antennacraft® HD1800 Heavy-Duty VHF/UHF/FM Antenna - RadioShack.com for my antenna.

I live in a typical 1950s house and, I realize this is stupid, I want an old school antenna which would match the style of the house. If this can't be done, so be it. But, I always liked the look of the older antennas and would like to keep that style if possible. Again, I know that is stupid and really immaterial to the goal of getting a good signal. The other consideration is that I live in Fargo, ND. We can get some harsh winters and nasty wind, I want to make sure that it is as "tough" as it can be. Any suggestions as far as that goes?