Total Newbie Updates quest to get a rooftop antenna

Grumbles

DTVUSA Jr. Member
Hey guys, just thought I would give everyone an update to my thread (here http://www.dtvusaforum.com/dtv-hdtv...total-newbie-looking-get-rooftop-antenna.html). I ended up going with Don's suggestion of a 2 antenna solution. I picked up an old channel master (the model replaced by 4221hd) and an antenna craft Y5-7-13. I have been trying to decide what sort of mount and how to go about it, decided on the rooftop tripod. I have been hesitant to install everything (don't even have mast or tripod yet) because I was nervous and I finally broke down and decided to call a local antenna supplier/installer to see what it would cost me to get it installed if I already had the equipment. Turns out, it is only 35 bucks an hour to get it put in. He is going to provide tripod and mast (I may go around this weekend to see if I can find a cheap mast-- it seems like they are either 8 bucks or 30 with no clear difference from what I can tell), I am guessing another 60-70 bucks on this stuff. At this point, seems like a nobrainer-- the installation through the roof and drilling coax into the house etc is something I don't wnat to mess up. Seems to me installation isn't the place to skimp... Anyway, he will be in on Tuesday-- I will let you know how it all turns out!

Piggie

Super Moderator
I still like eave mounting with the pole going all the way to the ground. Unless the antenna (not in your case) is so light it can be just mounting on a short mast to the eave.

Tripods can get them higher in the air.

I will be waiting with bait on my breath..... Good luck! :)

Tim58hsv

DTVUSA Member
Hey Grumbles, if you dont't mind, would you please ask the installer if the antenna business is up lately?

I think a lot of us would like to know.

Thanks.

Piggie

Super Moderator