Question: What TV shows do you use in your daily life?

There's a big difference between shows we watch because we like what they do and shows we watch because we need to know the information they're giving. I, for instance, think The Dog Whisperer or Cesar 911 are pretty artless and tedious TV shows... but I need to watch them so I can be a better owner to my dog.

Which TV shows do you need to watch? How do you use them in your daily life?

tmcmeekin

DTVUSA Member
I would categorize any kind of news as something I watch as a need rather than pleasure. Even though I'm a journalist (or maybe partly because I am a journalist?) I find it very difficult to watch news.

I rarely watch anything that I find tedious unless I'm forced to (if someone else in the room is watching it).

Jim1348

DTVUSA Member
What TV Shows Do You Use In Your Daily Life?

I always watch the local morning news for the weather forecast.

Jim
Much like Jim, my wife and I like to get a bit of local news and weather each day. I have a morning routine. I typically get up and check e-mail and have picture-in-picture with local KMSP-9 news displayed in the upper right hand corner of the computer monitor. I generally leave for work an hour later and stream from my SlingBox the audio through the car sterao. That works pretty well for me. I just like an awareness of what is going on in the world, what the weather will do locally, and how traffic is going on my route. I also have a scanner monitoring local public safety activity, so I can usually be aware of traffic back ups and plan an alternate, if necessary.

Jim

MrPogi

Moderator, , Webmaster of Cache Free TV
Staff member